vcvibes

Black Opal Ventures, LLC

Emerging manager

SEC exempt reporting adviser (private fund adviser exemption, under $150M).

HQ
NY

Black Opal Ventures, LLC is a venture firm that invests in companies using technology to solve the world's biggest problems. Dr. Tara Bishop and Eileen Tanghal are Founders and Managing Directors, and Justin Craib-Cox is Head of Investments. Listed portfolio companies include TigerGraph, Blaze, AuthMind, Parasail, Hyro, Outpace, FlyteHealth, Optellum, Empatica, Conceivabe, Oath, GV20, Chamber, and Eridu.

01 · Says / Does

TagSaysDoes
StagesNot statedNot enough dated deals
SectorsCybersecurity, HealthtechNot enough dated deals
RegionsNot statedNot enough dated deals

Says: what the firm's funds state. Does: from 0 dated deals in the last 24 months.

02 · Fund history

FundYearSizeStatus
Black Opal Ventures Fund II, L.P.

Black Opal Ventures invests in companies using technology to solve the world's biggest problems, with focus areas in healthtech, tech bio, infrastructure, and cybersecurity. Inferred from the firm's website

approx. 2026$75M (Form D)Raising
Black Opal Ventures Fund I, L.P.

Black Opal Ventures invests in companies using technology to solve the world's biggest problems, with focus areas in healthtech, tech bio, infrastructure, and cybersecurity. Inferred from the firm's website

2023$62.66M (Form D)Open, writing first checks
Black Opal Ventures Fund I, L.P.

Black Opal Ventures invests in companies using technology to solve the world's biggest problems, with focus areas in healthtech, tech bio, infrastructure, and cybersecurity. Inferred from the firm's website

2022$57.54M to $58.05M (Form D and SEC adviser filing)Late investment period

03 · People across funds

04 · Recent deals

No dated deals found yet.

05 · Latest from the firm

No news from the firm's website yet.

06 · Sources

  1. https://www.blackopalventures.com
  2. https://www.blackopalventures.com/team-1
  3. https://www.blackopalventures.com/
  4. https://www.blackopalventures.com/blog

Fund dates and sizes are from SEC Form D filings.

Last verified: Oct 28, 2026