Firsthand Capital Management, Inc.
Emerging managerSEC-registered investment adviser.
- HQ
- CA
Firsthand Capital Management, Inc. is an investment management firm. It provides investment management services to Firsthand Technology Value Fund, Inc., a publicly traded venture capital fund. The firm says successful technology investing depends on understanding the industry from the inside. It is led by Kevin Landis, a seasoned technology and cleantech investor.
01 · Says / Does
| Tag | Says | Does | Historically (to 2020) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stages | Not stated | Not enough dated deals | Growth, Series B |
| Sectors | Not stated | Not enough dated deals | Hardware, Semiconductors, Manufacturing |
| Regions | Not stated | Not enough dated deals | CA |
Says: what the firm's funds state. Does: from 0 dated deals in the last 24 months.
Historical focus (through 2020), derived from historical deal data.
| Year | Deals | Top sectors |
|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 1 | Hardware |
| 2001 | 4 | Enterprise SaaS, Hardware, Manufacturing |
| 2002 | 1 | Hardware |
| 2003 | 2 | Hardware, Advanced materials, Cybersecurity |
| 2004 | 1 | Hardware, Manufacturing, Semiconductors |
| 2006 | 1 | Semiconductors |
| 2007 | 3 | Climate software, Energy, Hardware |
02 · Fund history
| Fund | Year | Size | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| FirsthandVC Fund II QP, LP | approx. 2025 | Not reported | Raising |
| FirsthandVC Fund II, LP | approx. 2025 | Not reported | Raising |
| Firsthand Ventures Fund I QP, LP | 2022 | $8.16M (Form D) | Late investment period |
| Firsthand Ventures Fund I, LP | 2021 | $7.7M (Form D) | Follow-ons only |
03 · People across funds
- Simon Chan, Manager of the General Partner of the Issuer
FirsthandVC Fund II QP, LP (Named on Form D); FirsthandVC Fund II, LP (Named on Form D); Firsthand Ventures Fund I QP, LP (Named on Form D); Firsthand Ventures Fund I, LP (Named on Form D)
- Kevin Landis
Firsthand Ventures Fund I QP, LP (Team); Firsthand Ventures Fund I, LP (Team)
04 · Recent deals
No dated deals found yet.
05 · Latest from the firm
No news from the firm's website yet.
06 · Sources
Fund dates and sizes are from SEC Form D filings.
Last verified: Oct 28, 2026