Flagship Pioneering, LLC
SEC exempt reporting adviser (venture capital exemption).
- HQ
- MA
Limited data: profile built from SEC filings only.
01 · Says / Does
| Tag | Says | Does | Historically (to 2020) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stages | Not stated | Not enough dated deals | Growth, Series B, Series A |
| Sectors | Not stated | Not enough dated deals | Biotech, Healthtech, Medical devices, Manufacturing |
| Regions | Not stated | Not enough dated deals | MA |
Says: what the firm's funds state. Does: from 0 dated deals in the last 24 months.
Historical focus (through 2020), derived from historical deal data.
| Year | Deals | Top sectors |
|---|---|---|
| 1999 | 1 | Enterprise SaaS |
| 2001 | 1 | Biotech, Data analytics |
| 2002 | 9 | Healthtech, Biotech, Enterprise SaaS |
| 2003 | 12 | Biotech, Healthtech, Enterprise SaaS |
| 2004 | 14 | Healthtech, Biotech, Data analytics |
| 2005 | 14 | Biotech, Enterprise SaaS, Hardware |
| 2006 | 17 | Biotech, Healthtech, Enterprise SaaS |
| 2007 | 16 | Biotech, Healthtech, Enterprise SaaS |
| 2008 | 14 | Biotech, Healthtech, Medical devices |
| 2009 | 18 | Biotech, Manufacturing, Healthtech |
| 2010 | 12 | Biotech, Healthtech, Medical devices |
| 2011 | 7 | Healthtech, Biotech, Medical devices |
| 2012 | 14 | Biotech, Healthtech, Medical devices |
| 2013 | 11 | Biotech, Healthtech, Medical devices |
| 2014 | 8 | Biotech, Healthtech, Medical devices |
| 2015 | 11 | Biotech, Healthtech, Energy |
| 2016 | 8 | Medical devices, Biotech, Healthtech |
| 2017 | 12 | Biotech, Healthtech, Agtech |
| 2018 | 5 | Biotech, Life sciences and research tools, Agtech |
| 2019 | 4 | Biotech, Life sciences and research tools, Agtech |
| 2020 | 3 | Biotech, Healthtech, Life sciences and research tools |
Stage mix over time
- Pre-seed
- Seed
- Series A
- Series B
- Growth
| Year | Pre-seed | Seed | Series A | Series B | Growth |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2010 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 7 |
| 2011 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 3 |
| 2012 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 1 | 2 |
| 2013 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 3 | 2 |
| 2014 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 4 | 3 |
| 2015 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 2 | 3 |
| 2016 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 5 |
| 2017 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 6 | 4 |
| 2018 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 |
| 2019 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
02 · Fund history
| Fund | Year | Size | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Flagship Pioneering Fund VIII, L.P. | 2023 | $2590.56M (Form D) | Open, writing first checks |
| Flagship Pioneering Fund VII, L.P. | 2021 | $2131.24M (Form D) | Follow-ons only |
03 · People across funds
- Noubar Afeyan, Ph.D., CEO of the Manager of the General Partner of the Issuer
Flagship Pioneering Fund VIII, L.P. (Named on Form D); Flagship Pioneering Fund VII, L.P. (Named on Form D)
04 · Recent deals
No dated deals found yet.
05 · Latest from the firm
No news from the firm's website yet.
06 · Sources
Fund dates and sizes are from SEC Form D filings.
Last verified: Oct 25, 2026