Floodgate
SEC exempt reporting adviser (venture capital exemption).
- Website
- https://floodgate.com
- HQ
- CA
Floodgate backs extraordinary founders at the pre-seed and seed stages. Its team includes partners Mike Maples, Jr., Ann Miura-Ko, Iris Choi, and Mike Heller, along with operations and finance staff. Portfolio companies mentioned include SmarterDX, Hebbia, Hadrian, Counsel, Terradot, and Okta.
01 · Says / Does
| Tag | Says | Does | Historically (to 2020) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stages | Pre-seed, Seed | Not enough dated deals | Seed, Series A, Series B |
| Sectors | Not stated | Not enough dated deals | Enterprise SaaS, Media, Ecommerce, Consumer |
| Regions | Not stated | Not enough dated deals | CA, TX |
Says: what the firm's funds state. Does: from 0 dated deals in the last 24 months.
Historical focus (through 2020), derived from historical deal data.
| Year | Deals | Top sectors |
|---|---|---|
| 2005 | 3 | Media, Consumer |
| 2006 | 3 | Media |
| 2007 | 6 | Ecommerce, Edtech, Enterprise SaaS |
| 2008 | 11 | Media, Consumer, Data analytics |
| 2009 | 20 | Enterprise SaaS, Fintech, Media |
| 2010 | 24 | Enterprise SaaS, Media, Ecommerce |
| 2011 | 30 | Enterprise SaaS, Media, Ecommerce |
| 2012 | 28 | Enterprise SaaS, Ecommerce, Media |
| 2013 | 40 | Enterprise SaaS, Data analytics, Consumer |
| 2014 | 26 | Ecommerce, Consumer, Enterprise SaaS |
| 2015 | 25 | Ecommerce, Enterprise SaaS, Edtech |
| 2016 | 32 | Enterprise SaaS, Ecommerce, Marketplaces |
| 2017 | 9 | Enterprise SaaS, Hardware, Logistics |
| 2018 | 26 | Enterprise SaaS, AI applications, Crypto and Web3 |
| 2019 | 16 | Enterprise SaaS, AI applications, Ecommerce |
| 2020 | 9 | Logistics, Marketplaces, AI applications |
Stage mix over time
- Pre-seed
- Seed
- Series A
- Series B
- Growth
| Year | Pre-seed | Seed | Series A | Series B | Growth |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2010 | 0 | 12 | 7 | 3 | 1 |
| 2011 | 0 | 4 | 13 | 7 | 3 |
| 2012 | 0 | 12 | 7 | 5 | 1 |
| 2013 | 0 | 12 | 15 | 7 | 3 |
| 2014 | 0 | 7 | 9 | 5 | 4 |
| 2015 | 0 | 12 | 7 | 2 | 2 |
| 2016 | 0 | 13 | 12 | 3 | 1 |
| 2017 | 0 | 3 | 3 | 2 | 1 |
| 2018 | 0 | 17 | 7 | 0 | 1 |
| 2019 | 0 | 9 | 5 | 2 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 4 | 3 | 1 | 1 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
02 · Fund history
| Fund | Year | Size | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Floodgate Fund VIII, L.P. Floodgate backs extraordinary founders at pre-seed and seed stages, investing early in companies building new businesses. Inferred from the firm's website | approx. 2026 | $130M (Form D) | Raising |
| Floodgate Fund VII, L.P. | approx. 2021 | $130M (Form D) | Follow-ons only |
03 · People across funds
- Ann Miura-Ko, PARTNER
Floodgate Fund VIII, L.P. (Named on Form D); Floodgate Fund VII, L.P. (Named on Form D)
- Michael Maples Jr., Managing Member of the General Partner
Floodgate Fund VII, L.P. (Named on Form D)
- Michael Maples, Jr., Managing Member of the General Partner of the Issuer
Floodgate Fund VIII, L.P. (Named on Form D)
- Finn Stäblein, Associate
Floodgate Fund VIII, L.P. (Team); Floodgate Fund VII, L.P. (Team)
- Helen Moore, Associate
Floodgate Fund VIII, L.P. (Team); Floodgate Fund VII, L.P. (Team)
- Iris Choi, Partner
Floodgate Fund VIII, L.P. (Team); Floodgate Fund VII, L.P. (Team)
- Lisa Del Ben, Director of Operations
Floodgate Fund VIII, L.P. (Team); Floodgate Fund VII, L.P. (Team)
- Lori Simotas, CFO
Floodgate Fund VIII, L.P. (Team); Floodgate Fund VII, L.P. (Team)
- Mike Heller, Partner
Floodgate Fund VIII, L.P. (Team); Floodgate Fund VII, L.P. (Team)
- Mike Maples, Jr., PARTNER
Floodgate Fund VIII, L.P. (Team); Floodgate Fund VII, L.P. (Team)
- Sam Beskind, Senior Associate
Floodgate Fund VIII, L.P. (Team); Floodgate Fund VII, L.P. (Team)
04 · Recent deals
No dated deals found yet.
05 · Latest from the firm
No news from the firm's website yet.
06 · Sources
- https://floodgate.com
- https://floodgate.com/companies
- https://floodgate.com/team
- https://floodgate.com/
Fund dates and sizes are from SEC Form D filings.
Last verified: Oct 28, 2026