Kleiner Perkins
SEC exempt reporting adviser (venture capital exemption).
- HQ
- CA
Limited data: profile built from SEC filings only.
01 · Says / Does
| Tag | Says | Does | Historically (to 2020) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stages | Not stated | Not enough dated deals | Growth, Series B, Series A |
| Sectors | Not stated | Not enough dated deals | Enterprise SaaS, Hardware, Healthtech, Biotech, Data analytics, Media |
| Regions | Not stated | Not enough dated deals | CA |
Says: what the firm's funds state. Does: from 0 dated deals in the last 24 months.
Historical focus (through 2020), derived from historical deal data.
| Year | Deals | Top sectors |
|---|---|---|
| 1982 | 1 | Devtools, Gaming, Hardware |
| 1983 | 1 | Cybersecurity, Hardware |
| 1991 | 1 | Consumer, Fintech |
| 1992 | 1 | Enterprise SaaS |
| 1994 | 2 | Ecommerce, Hardware, Media |
| 1996 | 2 | Cybersecurity, Ecommerce, Logistics |
| 1997 | 3 | Cybersecurity, Ecommerce, Enterprise SaaS |
| 1998 | 2 | Cybersecurity, Ecommerce, Enterprise SaaS |
| 1999 | 14 | Enterprise SaaS, Ecommerce, Hardware |
| 2000 | 47 | Ecommerce, Enterprise SaaS, Fintech |
| 2001 | 15 | Enterprise SaaS, Construction and proptech, Consumer |
| 2002 | 12 | Hardware, Manufacturing, Cybersecurity |
| 2003 | 18 | Hardware, Data analytics, Biotech |
| 2004 | 32 | Hardware, Manufacturing, Biotech |
| 2005 | 35 | Hardware, Manufacturing, Biotech |
| 2006 | 45 | Media, Enterprise SaaS, Biotech |
| 2007 | 45 | Hardware, Biotech, Manufacturing |
| 2008 | 59 | Energy, Biotech, Climate hardware |
| 2009 | 51 | Biotech, Healthtech, Medical devices |
| 2010 | 61 | Biotech, Healthtech, Medical devices |
| 2011 | 101 | Ecommerce, Energy, Hardware |
| 2012 | 94 | Healthtech, Biotech, Enterprise SaaS |
| 2013 | 93 | Hardware, Enterprise SaaS, Biotech |
| 2014 | 98 | Enterprise SaaS, Healthtech, Biotech |
| 2015 | 79 | Enterprise SaaS, Healthtech, Data analytics |
| 2016 | 57 | Enterprise SaaS, Data analytics, Healthtech |
| 2017 | 49 | Enterprise SaaS, Data analytics, AI applications |
| 2018 | 59 | Enterprise SaaS, Hardware, AI applications |
| 2019 | 67 | Enterprise SaaS, Consumer, Media |
| 2020 | 22 | Cybersecurity, Enterprise SaaS, AI applications |
Stage mix over time
- Pre-seed
- Seed
- Series A
- Series B
- Growth
| Year | Pre-seed | Seed | Series A | Series B | Growth |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2010 | 0 | 3 | 13 | 15 | 23 |
| 2011 | 0 | 5 | 21 | 25 | 40 |
| 2012 | 0 | 10 | 14 | 14 | 34 |
| 2013 | 0 | 14 | 16 | 13 | 35 |
| 2014 | 0 | 5 | 25 | 21 | 43 |
| 2015 | 0 | 4 | 16 | 15 | 40 |
| 2016 | 0 | 2 | 8 | 16 | 24 |
| 2017 | 0 | 7 | 8 | 13 | 19 |
| 2018 | 0 | 8 | 11 | 13 | 22 |
| 2019 | 2 | 16 | 23 | 8 | 15 |
| 2020 | 0 | 1 | 4 | 8 | 8 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
02 · Fund history
| Fund | Year | Size | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kleiner Perkins Flex I, LLC | 2026 | $555M (Form D) | Open, writing first checks |
| Kleiner Perkins Select Fund IV, LLC | 2026 | $1920M (Form D) | Open, writing first checks |
| Kleiner Perkins XXII, LLC | 2026 | $995M (Form D) | Open, writing first checks |
| Kleiner Perkins Select Fund III, LLC | 2024 | $1200M (Form D) | Open, writing first checks |
| Kleiner Perkins XXI, LLC | 2024 | $825M (Form D) | Open, writing first checks |
| Kleiner Perkins Select Fund II, LLC | approx. 2022 | $1000M (Form D) | Late investment period |
| Kleiner Perkins XX, LLC | approx. 2022 | $800M to $818.94M (Form D and SEC adviser filing) | Late investment period |
| Kleiner Perkins Select Fund, LLC | approx. 2021 | $750M (Form D) | Follow-ons only |
03 · People across funds
- Ilya Fushman, Managing Member of the Managing Member
Kleiner Perkins Flex I, LLC (Named on Form D); Kleiner Perkins Select Fund IV, LLC (Named on Form D); Kleiner Perkins XXII, LLC (Named on Form D); Kleiner Perkins Select Fund III, LLC (Named on Form D); Kleiner Perkins XXI, LLC (Named on Form D); Kleiner Perkins Select Fund II, LLC (Named on Form D); Kleiner Perkins XX, LLC (Named on Form D); Kleiner Perkins Select Fund, LLC (Named on Form D)
- Mamoon Hamid, Managing Member of the Managing Member
Kleiner Perkins Flex I, LLC (Named on Form D); Kleiner Perkins Select Fund IV, LLC (Named on Form D); Kleiner Perkins XXII, LLC (Named on Form D); Kleiner Perkins Select Fund III, LLC (Named on Form D); Kleiner Perkins XXI, LLC (Named on Form D); Kleiner Perkins Select Fund II, LLC (Named on Form D); Kleiner Perkins XX, LLC (Named on Form D); Kleiner Perkins Select Fund, LLC (Named on Form D)
- Wen Hsieh, Managing Member of the Managing Member
Kleiner Perkins Select Fund II, LLC (Named on Form D); Kleiner Perkins XX, LLC (Named on Form D); Kleiner Perkins Select Fund, LLC (Named on Form D)
04 · Recent deals
No dated deals found yet.
05 · Latest from the firm
No news from the firm's website yet.
06 · Sources
Fund dates and sizes are from SEC Form D filings.
Last verified: Oct 25, 2026