Obvious Ventures
SEC exempt reporting adviser (venture capital exemption).
- HQ
- CA
Limited data: profile built from SEC filings only.
01 · Says / Does
| Tag | Says | Does | Historically (to 2020) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stages | Not stated | Not enough dated deals | Series A, Seed, Series B, Growth |
| Sectors | Not stated | Not enough dated deals | AI applications, Energy, Healthtech, Consumer, Biotech, Digital health, Enterprise SaaS, Fintech |
| Regions | Not stated | Not enough dated deals | CA |
Says: what the firm's funds state. Does: from 0 dated deals in the last 24 months.
Historical focus (through 2020), derived from historical deal data.
| Year | Deals | Top sectors |
|---|---|---|
| 2008 | 1 | Consumer |
| 2011 | 2 | Biotech, Data analytics |
| 2012 | 1 | Enterprise SaaS, Fintech, HR and future of work |
| 2014 | 11 | Ecommerce, Enterprise SaaS, Foodtech |
| 2015 | 13 | Data analytics, Energy, Climate software |
| 2016 | 11 | AI applications, Life sciences and research tools, Biotech |
| 2017 | 13 | Climate hardware, Energy, Healthtech |
| 2018 | 10 | Healthtech, AI applications, Construction and proptech |
| 2019 | 10 | Digital health, Consumer, AI applications |
| 2020 | 7 | Fintech, Insurtech, AI applications |
Stage mix over time
- Pre-seed
- Seed
- Series A
- Series B
- Growth
| Year | Pre-seed | Seed | Series A | Series B | Growth |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2011 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2012 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2013 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2014 | 0 | 2 | 6 | 1 | 2 |
| 2015 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 4 | 1 |
| 2016 | 0 | 4 | 3 | 2 | 1 |
| 2017 | 0 | 3 | 2 | 5 | 1 |
| 2018 | 0 | 4 | 3 | 2 | 1 |
| 2019 | 0 | 3 | 4 | 2 | 1 |
| 2020 | 0 | 1 | 4 | 1 | 1 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
02 · Fund history
| Fund | Year | Size | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Adverb Ventures Fund II, L.P. | approx. 2025 | $125M (Form D) | Raising |
| Obvious Ventures V, L.P. | approx. 2025 | $400M (Form D) | Raising |
| Adverb Ventures Fund I, L.P. | approx. 2023 | $75M (Form D) | Open, writing first checks |
| Obvious Prime II, L.P. | approx. 2022 | $125M (Form D) | Late investment period |
| Obvious Ventures IV, L.P. | approx. 2022 | $400M (Form D) | Late investment period |
| Obvious Growth I, L.P. | approx. 2021 | $75M to $81.41M (Form D and SEC adviser filing) | Follow-ons only |
03 · People across funds
- Andrew Beebe, Managing Member of the General Partner
Obvious Ventures V, L.P. (Named on Form D); Obvious Prime II, L.P. (Named on Form D); Obvious Ventures IV, L.P. (Named on Form D); Obvious Growth I, L.P. (Named on Form D)
- April Underwood, Managing Director of the General Partner of the Issuer
Adverb Ventures Fund II, L.P. (Named on Form D); Adverb Ventures Fund I, L.P. (Named on Form D)
- Evan Williams, Managing Member of the General Partner
Obvious Ventures V, L.P. (Named on Form D); Obvious Prime II, L.P. (Named on Form D); Obvious Ventures IV, L.P. (Named on Form D); Obvious Growth I, L.P. (Named on Form D)
- James Joaquin, Managing Member of the General Partner
Obvious Ventures V, L.P. (Named on Form D); Obvious Prime II, L.P. (Named on Form D); Obvious Ventures IV, L.P. (Named on Form D); Obvious Growth I, L.P. (Named on Form D)
- Jessica Verrilli, Managing Director of the General Partner of the Issuer
Adverb Ventures Fund II, L.P. (Named on Form D); Adverb Ventures Fund I, L.P. (Named on Form D)
- Nan Li, Managing Member of the General Partner
Obvious Prime II, L.P. (Named on Form D); Obvious Ventures IV, L.P. (Named on Form D); Obvious Growth I, L.P. (Named on Form D)
- Vishal Vasishth, Managing Member of the General Partner
Obvious Ventures V, L.P. (Named on Form D); Obvious Prime II, L.P. (Named on Form D); Obvious Ventures IV, L.P. (Named on Form D); Obvious Growth I, L.P. (Named on Form D)
04 · Recent deals
No dated deals found yet.
05 · Latest from the firm
No news from the firm's website yet.
06 · Sources
Fund dates and sizes are from SEC Form D filings.
Last verified: Oct 25, 2026