vcvibes

The Column Group

SEC exempt reporting adviser (venture capital exemption).

HQ
CA

The Column Group is a venture ecosystem focused on fueling scientific innovation in the life sciences. Peter Svennilson founded the firm in 2007 and serves as Founder and Managing Partner. Venture Partners Jeff Goater (joined 2021) and Craig Parker (joined 2024) also work with the firm. Its portfolio includes Sentrin Therapeutics, Topo, Synthekine, Atavistik Bio, Eikon Therapeutics, Peloton Therapeutics, and TriGemX Bio, spanning oncology, immune system therapies, hematology, and migraine treatment.

01 · Says / Does

TagSaysDoesHistorically (to 2020)
StagesNot statedNot enough dated dealsSeries B, Series A, Growth
SectorsBiotechNot enough dated dealsBiotech, Healthtech, Life sciences and research tools, Medical devices
RegionsNot statedNot enough dated dealsCA, MA

Says: what the firm's funds state. Does: from 0 dated deals in the last 24 months.

Historical focus (through 2020), derived from historical deal data.

YearDealsTop sectors
20081Biotech, Healthtech
20096Biotech, Healthtech, Life sciences and research tools
20105Biotech, Healthtech, Life sciences and research tools
20114Biotech, Healthtech, Medical devices
20124Biotech, Healthtech, Life sciences and research tools
20132Biotech, Healthtech, Medical devices
20144Biotech, Healthtech, Life sciences and research tools
20159Biotech, Healthtech, Fintech
20165Biotech, Healthtech, Life sciences and research tools
20177Biotech, Healthtech, Fintech
20189Biotech, Healthtech, Life sciences and research tools
20199Biotech, Healthtech, Life sciences and research tools
20204Biotech, Healthtech, Life sciences and research tools

Stage mix over time

2010 Series A: 12010 Series B: 4102011 Series A: 22011 Series B: 2112012 Seed: 12012 Growth: 2122013 Series A: 12013 Growth: 1132014 Series A: 12014 Series B: 22014 Growth: 1142015 Series A: 42015 Series B: 22015 Growth: 2152016 Series A: 22016 Series B: 22016 Growth: 1162017 Series A: 22017 Series B: 12017 Growth: 4172018 Series A: 22018 Series B: 42018 Growth: 2182019 Series A: 22019 Series B: 32019 Growth: 4192020 Series B: 22020 Growth: 120212223242526
  • Pre-seed
  • Seed
  • Series A
  • Series B
  • Growth
Share of rounds by stage, per year. Striped years have fewer than 3 rounds.Historical focus (through 2020), derived from historical deal data.
Rounds by stage and year
YearPre-seedSeedSeries ASeries BGrowth
201000140
201100220
201201002
201300101
201400121
201500422
201600221
201700214
201800242
201900234
202000021
202100000
202200000
202300000
202400000
202500000
202600000

02 · Fund history

FundYearSizeStatus
Column Group VI, LP

The Column Group is a venture ecosystem funding life sciences innovation, from early technology platforms and single assets to later-stage programs, from inception through exit, with a focus on biotechnology company formation. Inferred from the firm's website

approx. 2025$600M (Form D)Raising
Column Group-Neuro II, LP

The Column Group is a venture ecosystem funding life sciences innovation, from early technology platforms and single assets to later-stage programs, from inception through exit, with a focus on biotechnology company formation. Inferred from the firm's website

2024$100M (Form D)Open, writing first checks
Column Group V, LP

The Column Group is a venture ecosystem funding life sciences innovation, from early technology platforms and single assets to later-stage programs, from inception through exit, with a focus on biotechnology company formation. Inferred from the firm's website

2022$600M (Form D)Late investment period
Column Group-Neuro, LP2021$100M (Form D)Follow-ons only

03 · People across funds

04 · Recent deals

No dated deals found yet.

05 · Latest from the firm

No news from the firm's website yet.

06 · Sources

  1. HTTP://WWW.THECOLUMNGROUP.COM
  2. https://www.thecolumngroup.com/contact/
  3. https://www.thecolumngroup.com/tcg-team/
  4. https://www.thecolumngroup.com/portfolio/
  5. https://www.thecolumngroup.com/

Fund dates and sizes are from SEC Form D filings.

Last verified: Oct 28, 2026